Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in Santa Ana, CA

Below: electricity rates for Santa Ana, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near Santa Ana

We use Southern California Edison (SCE) as the likely utility for Santa Ana. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

Southern California Edison (SCE) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun Santa Ana gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,570 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Santa AnaJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Santa Ana (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan108
Feb102
Mar136
Apr143
May152
Jun146
Jul160
Aug157
Sep140
Oct125
Nov107
Dec94

Rooftop solar in Santa Ana makes about 1,570 kWh per kW a year, the 10th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in Santa Ana

Homes (housing units)
83,701
Lived in by their owner
44.6% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
44.2% of homes
Median year built
1969
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$713,000

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In Santa Ana, 44.6% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 44.2% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of Santa Ana's homes were built before 1969. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for Santa Ana city, read on 2026-11-02. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in Santa Ana

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for Santa Ana. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.5–1.7 kW$4,200–$6,4007.5–15.5 (likely 10.5)
$2003.5–3.9 kW$9,800–$14,8007.5–15.5 (likely 10.5)
$3506.5–7.2 kW$18,200–$27,4007.5–15.5 (likely 10.5)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.