Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in Salinas, CA

Below: electricity rates for Salinas, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near Salinas

We use Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) as the likely utility for Salinas. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Southern California Edison (SCE)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun Salinas gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,483 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in SalinasJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Salinas (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan85
Feb89
Mar126
Apr141
May151
Jun154
Jul155
Aug144
Sep132
Oct124
Nov94
Dec86

Rooftop solar in Salinas makes about 1,483 kWh per kW a year, the 27th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in Salinas

Homes (housing units)
45,249
Lived in by their owner
47.0% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
55.4% of homes
Median year built
1976
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$654,100

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In Salinas, 47.0% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 55.4% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of Salinas's homes were built before 1976. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for Salinas city, read on 2026-11-02. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in Salinas

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for Salinas. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.6–1.8 kW$4,600–$6,9008–16.5 (likely 11.5)
$2003.8–4.2 kW$10,700–$16,0008–16.5 (likely 11.5)
$3507–7.8 kW$19,700–$29,7008–16.5 (likely 11.5)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.