Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in San Diego, CA

Below: electricity rates for San Diego, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near San Diego

We use San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) as the likely utility for San Diego. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Southern California Edison (SCE)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun San Diego gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,487 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in San DiegoJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in San Diego (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan100
Feb100
Mar133
Apr138
May133
Jun137
Jul147
Aug148
Sep131
Oct120
Nov105
Dec96

Rooftop solar in San Diego makes about 1,487 kWh per kW a year, the 26th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in San Diego

Homes (housing units)
568,668
Lived in by their owner
47.3% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
43.1% of homes
Median year built
1979
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$906,700

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In San Diego, 47.3% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 43.1% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of San Diego's homes were built before 1979. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for San Diego city, read on 2026-11-01. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in San Diego

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for San Diego. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.2–1.3 kW$3,400–$5,1006.5–13 (likely 9)
$2002.8–3.1 kW$7,900–$11,8006.5–13 (likely 9)
$3505.2–5.8 kW$14,600–$21,9006.5–13 (likely 9)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.