Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in Bakersfield, CA

Below: electricity rates for Bakersfield, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near Bakersfield

We use Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) as the likely utility for Bakersfield. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Southern California Edison (SCE)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun Bakersfield gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,566 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in BakersfieldJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Bakersfield (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan73
Feb97
Mar131
Apr146
May164
Jun165
Jul164
Aug161
Sep147
Oct130
Nov98
Dec90

Rooftop solar in Bakersfield makes about 1,566 kWh per kW a year, the 11th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in Bakersfield

Homes (housing units)
135,724
Lived in by their owner
60.6% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
71.8% of homes
Median year built
1990
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$371,700

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In Bakersfield, 60.6% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 71.8% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of Bakersfield's homes were built before 1990. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for Bakersfield city, read on 2026-11-01. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in Bakersfield

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for Bakersfield. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.6–1.7 kW$4,400–$6,5008–15.5 (likely 11)
$2003.6–4 kW$10,100–$15,2008–15.5 (likely 11)
$3506.7–7.4 kW$18,700–$28,1008–15.5 (likely 11)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.