Solar payback in El Cajon, CA
Below: electricity rates for El Cajon, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.
Electricity rates near El Cajon
We use San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) as the likely utility for El Cajon. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.
| Item | Rate |
|---|---|
| Average residential rate | $0.455/kWh |
| Average export credit | $0.05/kWh |
| Fixed monthly charge | $24.13 |
Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.
Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.
| Item | Rate |
|---|---|
| Average residential rate | $0.337/kWh |
| Average export credit | $0.05/kWh |
| Fixed monthly charge | $24.13 |
Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.
Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.
| Item | Rate |
|---|---|
| Average residential rate | $0.345/kWh |
| Average export credit | $0.05/kWh |
| Fixed monthly charge | $24.03 |
Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.
Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.
How much sun El Cajon gets
Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,602 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.
| Month | kWh per kW |
|---|---|
| Jan | 108 |
| Feb | 106 |
| Mar | 140 |
| Apr | 150 |
| May | 144 |
| Jun | 153 |
| Jul | 161 |
| Aug | 158 |
| Sep | 143 |
| Oct | 126 |
| Nov | 107 |
| Dec | 106 |
Rooftop solar in El Cajon makes about 1,602 kWh per kW a year, the 4th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.
Homes in El Cajon
- Homes (housing units)
- 35,185
- Lived in by their owner
- 41.5% of occupied homes
- Detached single-family houses
- 39.2% of homes
- Median year built
- 1974
- Median value of owner-occupied homes
- $681,700
Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In El Cajon, 41.5% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 39.2% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.
Half of El Cajon's homes were built before 1974. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.
Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for El Cajon city, read on 2026-11-02. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.
Example payback in El Cajon
These use illustrative example bills, not averages for El Cajon. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.
| Monthly bill | System size | Installed cost | Payback (years) |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | 1.1–1.2 kW | $3,200–$4,700 | 6–12.5 (likely 8.5) |
| $200 | 2.6–2.9 kW | $7,300–$11,000 | 6–12.5 (likely 8.5) |
| $350 | 4.8–5.4 kW | $13,500–$20,400 | 6–12.5 (likely 8.5) |
Get quotes or run your numbers
Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.