Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in Ontario, CA

Below: electricity rates for Ontario, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near Ontario

We use Southern California Edison (SCE) as the likely utility for Ontario. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

Southern California Edison (SCE) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun Ontario gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,592 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in OntarioJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Ontario (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan103
Feb100
Mar131
Apr147
May146
Jun159
Jul164
Aug164
Sep141
Oct129
Nov109
Dec100

Rooftop solar in Ontario makes about 1,592 kWh per kW a year, the 6th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in Ontario

Homes (housing units)
55,966
Lived in by their owner
58.0% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
57.9% of homes
Median year built
1980
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$607,600

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In Ontario, 58.0% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 57.9% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of Ontario's homes were built before 1980. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for Ontario city, read on 2026-11-02. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in Ontario

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for Ontario. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.5–1.7 kW$4,200–$6,3007.5–15 (likely 10.5)
$2003.5–3.8 kW$9,700–$14,6007.5–15 (likely 10.5)
$3506.4–7.1 kW$18,000–$27,0007.5–15 (likely 10.5)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.