Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in Oceanside, CA

Below: electricity rates for Oceanside, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near Oceanside

We use San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) as the likely utility for Oceanside. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Southern California Edison (SCE)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun Oceanside gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,540 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in OceansideJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Oceanside (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan109
Feb108
Mar135
Apr141
May138
Jun142
Jul151
Aug152
Sep131
Oct130
Nov104
Dec99

Rooftop solar in Oceanside makes about 1,540 kWh per kW a year, the 16th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in Oceanside

Homes (housing units)
66,997
Lived in by their owner
58.3% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
51.2% of homes
Median year built
1984
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$770,300

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In Oceanside, 58.3% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 51.2% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of Oceanside's homes were built before 1984. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for Oceanside city, read on 2026-11-02. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in Oceanside

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for Oceanside. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.2–1.3 kW$3,300–$4,9006.5–13 (likely 9)
$2002.7–3 kW$7,600–$11,4006.5–13 (likely 9)
$3505–5.6 kW$14,100–$21,2006.5–13 (likely 9)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.