Skip to content
RayValueSolar math for your home

Solar payback in Chula Vista, CA

Below: electricity rates for Chula Vista, how much sun a solar array gets here, and example payback for a few illustrative bills.

Electricity rates near Chula Vista

We use San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) as the likely utility for Chula Vista. Check your bill to confirm yours. Other utilities in the state are listed for comparison.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) (likely utility for this city)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.455/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.337/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.13

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-22.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

Southern California Edison (SCE)
ItemRate
Average residential rate$0.345/kWh
Average export credit$0.05/kWh
Fixed monthly charge$24.03

Source: utility rate page, read 2026-10-25.

Export credit source: export credit report, read 2026-10-22. CPUC 2025 Senate Bill 695 Report (Sept 30, 2025), p.42 text and footnote 127: 2024 ACC values for 2025 locked-in export rates, the average of generation and delivery rates across all hours, rounded, for PG&E, SCE and SDG&E. One statewide figure applied to all three utilities; an all-hours average, not weighted to solar production hours; the report does not state whether the ACC Plus adder is included.

How much sun Chula Vista gets

Estimated output of 1 kW of rooftop solar, month by month, from NREL PVWatts weather data: about 1,593 kWh per year. Real output depends on your roof, shading and equipment.

Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Chula VistaJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Estimated monthly solar output per kW installed in Chula Vista (kWh)
MonthkWh per kW
Jan102
Feb107
Mar141
Apr149
May150
Jun146
Jul159
Aug157
Sep144
Oct131
Nov108
Dec100

Rooftop solar in Chula Vista makes about 1,593 kWh per kW a year, the 5th most of the 30 California cities on RayValue (they range from 1,416 to 1,711, a 21% spread). More sun means more power from the same panels, which shortens payback.

Homes in Chula Vista

Homes (housing units)
90,273
Lived in by their owner
59.8% of occupied homes
Detached single-family houses
52.0% of homes
Median year built
1987
Median value of owner-occupied homes
$758,700

Rooftop solar is usually the homeowner's decision, and it is simplest on a house with a roof of its own. In Chula Vista, 59.8% of occupied homes are lived in by their owner and 52.0% of all homes are detached single-family houses. Condos, townhomes and apartments usually need approval from the building or association first.

Half of Chula Vista's homes were built before 1987. Panels last decades, so if your roof is near the end of its life, ask installers whether to replace it before they install.

Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates for Chula Vista city, read on 2026-11-01. See the Census table. Estimates have a margin of error.

Example payback in Chula Vista

These use illustrative example bills, not averages for Chula Vista. They show a solar-only system (no battery, some shading) at the likely utility's rates, with no federal tax credit. Your own numbers will differ; use the calculator for yours.

Monthly billSystem sizeInstalled costPayback (years)
$1001.1–1.3 kW$3,200–$4,8006–12.5 (likely 8.5)
$2002.6–2.9 kW$7,400–$11,1006–12.5 (likely 8.5)
$3504.9–5.4 kW$13,600–$20,5006–12.5 (likely 8.5)

Get quotes or run your numbers

Compare free quotes from up to 3 local installers, or enter your ZIP and monthly bill to get a payback range for your home.